Application deadline is March 31, 2024, for 13 environmental studies scholarships amounting to more than $25,000 from the “Ding” Darling Wildlife Society-Friends of the Refuge (DDWS). Ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 each, the scholarships are available to high school seniors, college students, and graduate students in or from Lee, Collier, Charlotte, Hendry, and Glades counties pursuing degrees in environmental-related studies.

This year’s named scholarships include the following:


Richard Bailey Scholarship

Mike and Terry Baldwin Scholarship

Dr. Andrew and Laura Dahlem Scholarship

Dr. H. Randall Deming Scholarship for Conservation and Environmental Studies

“Ding” Darling Conservation Scholarship

Hans and Leslie Fleischner Scholarships (two scholarships)

The Mary Elaine Jacobson Memorial Scholarship

Win & Marilyn Kloosterman Scholarship

Barry & Francine Litofsky Scholarship

Tarpon Bay Explorers Scholarship

Jane Werner Environmental Scholarships (two scholarships)


DDWS will award the scholarships at a special ceremony at the J.N. “Ding” Darling National Wildlife Refuge on Sanibel Island in June 2024. Now in its 18th year, the DDWS scholarship program presented its first awards in 2006, donated by Tarpon Bay Explorers, the refuge’s official recreation concession. To date, the program has awarded a total of $262,400 to deserving students.


Interested students can find more information and printable application forms at


To learn more about the scholarship program and establishing a permanently endowed scholarship, contact Ann-Marie Wildman at [email protected].




As a non-profit 501(c)3 organization, DDWS works to support J.N. “Ding” Darling National Wildlife Refuge’s mission of conservation, wildlife and habitat protection, research, and public education through charitable donations and Refuge Nature Shop profits. To support DDWS and the refuge with a tax-deductible gift, visit or Ann-Marie Wildman at 239-789-8991 or [email protected].